Kenyatta sacks Ruto’s allies in latest shakeup of Senate leadership

NAIROBI – Kenya President Uhuru Kenyatta on Monday, May 11, 2020, turned tables on William Ruto’s allies, sacking Senate Majority Leader Kipchumba Onesimus Murkomen and replacing him with West Pokot Senator Samuel Poghisio from Gideon Moi’s KANU.

Murkomen’s deputy Susan Kihika of Nakuru, who also had a hard stance against President Kenyatta has been shuffled, and replaced with her Murang’a counterpart Irungu Kang’ata.

The reshuffle came following a meeting at State House Nairobi.

according to a press Release from State House, President Kenyatta chaired the Jubilee Coalition Senate Parliamentary Group Meeting that brought together Senators from Jubilee Party and the Kenya African National Union (KANU).

During the meeting attended by 20 Senators, the Parliamentary Group meeting resolved to strengthen the Coalition’s Senate Leadership and elected the following new leaders:

1. Majority Leader – Sen. Samuel Poghisio, West Pokot County.

2. Majority Chief Whip – Sen. Irungu Kang’ata, Murang’a County.

3. Deputy Majority Leader – Sen. Fatuma Dullo Adan, Isiolo County.

4. Deputy Majority Chief Whip – Sen. Farhiya Ali Haji, Nominated Senator, Nairobi County.

The President congratulated the new Jubilee Coalition Senate leaders and assured them of his support.

The President who is also the Party Leader of the Jubilee Coalition said he looks forward to working closely with the new Senate Leadership in delivering services to Kenyans.

Spread the love

Abitegeka Gerald

The News Editor ,Reporter at Kagadi Kibaale community Radio

You May Also Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *