Stephen Twesige Rulekere Confirmed NRM Flag bearer for Buyaga Seat

Kagadi-The NRM Tribunal has dismissed a petition challenging the election of the former third prime minister of Bunyoro Kitara Kingdom, Stephen Twesige Rulekere as the NRM flag bearer for Buyaga Seat constituency in Kagadi district.

The petitioner- Eric Musana Acaali, the incumbent MP Buyaga East   ran to NRM EC seeking for cancellation of Twesige’s victory on allegations of electoral malpractices such as, bribery, intimidation and inflation of votes especially in Paacwa trading centre.

The decision of the NRM Tribunal chaired by Enoch Barata today afternoon dismissed Eric Musana’s petition saying the allegations are not substantiated and that they could not in any way affect the results in a substantial manner.

According to the tribunal, the former third prime minister of Bunyoro Kitara Kingdom, Stephen Twesige Rulekere provided all necessary declaration forms for the contested areas to prove that he had won the election.

He also adduced   affidavits in support to the response by Eria Bingi and Birungi Robert who was one of the contestants in the race together with the declaration forms alleged to have been given him by the petitioner.

The chairperson of NRM Electoral commission, Dr.Tanga Odoi at the NRM Party headquarters in Kyadondo had declared Stephen Twesige Rulekerea winer after polling 28,686(42%) votes against Musana’s 27,162 (40%) votes, while Amara Peter managed to get 10,966 votes.

Birungi Robert got 37votes, Kisembo Emmanuel Diini got 10, Tukamushaba Kerian got 367, Alinaitwe Bright secured 385 votes, and Kakooza Patrick attained 1,079 votes.

However, Musana rejected the results saying he was cheated.

Spread the love

Abitegeka Gerald

The News Editor ,Reporter at Kagadi Kibaale community Radio

You May Also Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *