Journalist, Eight Others Remanded over Unlawful Assembly

Moses Bwayo and eight others have been remanded to Luzira Prisons on charges of unlawful assembly.

The others are  Shafik Ssengendo, Josca Kagabane , Mayumunah Nakamya, Shaphra Rukundo, Lillian Namulongo, Juliet Nakayiza,  Emmanuel Gashumba .

Bwayo was arrested last week capturing a documentary of a song being composed by Kyadondo East Member of Parliament Robert Kyagulanyi, aka Bobi Wine.

Bwayo, who was under a contract with a UK-based production company, Southern Films, was arrested in Nsambya, a Kampala suburb.

Patrick Onyango, the police spokesperson for Kampala Metropolitan area said that the group were shooting a music video in the middle of the road, a move he said caused heavy traffic jam.

Bwayo and the ten on Wednesday appeared before Makindye Grade one Magistrate, Jude Okurut.

They pleaded not guilty to the charges and attempted to apply for bail, but their application was rejected because it was past the official working hours of court.

They were remanded until March 6th 2020 when they will be returning to court. 

Spread the love

Abitegeka Gerald

The News Editor ,Reporter at Kagadi Kibaale community Radio

You May Also Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *