Minister Kasaija unopposed for Buyanja MP Seat after rival withdrew from race

Kibaale -Matia Kasaija, the minister of finance, planning and economic development is the latest MP of the ruling National Resistance Movement (NRM) unopposed ahead of 2021 parliamentary elections.

The number of unopposed NRM MPs has now risen to 10

They include Hilary Lokang of Ik county and Pius Wakabi of Bugahya, both unopposed for two terms now; Gyaviira Ssemwanga of Buyamba, Lilian Paparu Obiale of Arua, Anita Among of Bukedea, Emely Kugonza of Buyanja East,  Enock Nyongore of Nakaseke North and Minister Frank Tumwebaze for Kibaale East county.

Kibaale   District returning officer Ipeto Aggrey James confirmed Kasaija’s unopposed status on December 04.

Ipeto informed Electoral Commission (EC) chairperson Justice Simon Mugenyi Byabakama that the Minister’s opponent, Paul Kyalimpa had pulled out of the Buyanja county parliamentary race in Kibaale district.

He said the race had attracted two candidates: Matia Kasaija and Paul Kyalimpa.

But Paul Kyalimpa informed Ipeto of his decisions to withdraw from the race, leaving Minister Matia Kasaija unopposed.

Currently Dr.Emily Kugonza for Buyanja East county and Matia Kasaija for Buyanja County in Kibaale district are both unopposed.

Paul Kyalimpa appointed Deputy Director General of Uganda investment Authority

Meanwhile, Paul Kyalimpa has been appointed as the deputy director General, Uganda investment authority.

He will be in charge of investment promotion, industrial and business parks among others.

 Paul Kyalimpa says the new appointment will bring more direct services to the people of Kibaale district.

Spread the love

Abitegeka Gerald

The News Editor ,Reporter at Kagadi Kibaale community Radio

You May Also Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *